Rafael Nadal makes history as the first player to win 21 Grand Slams

After his victory at the Australian Open 2022, the Spanish tennis player can already boast of having completed 21 titles in the four major professional tennis tournaments. This means that Rafael Nadal makes history and becomes the first male tennis player to win 21 Grand Slams.

Read: The 6 best moments of Checo Pérez during the 2021 season

Rafael Nadal’s epic victory at the Australian Open 2022

The final, which took place in Melbourne Park, was a heart-stopping experience thanks to Rafael Nadal’s epic comeback (2-6, 6-7, 6-4, 6-4 and 7-5)who faced Russian Daniil Medvédev, in a match that lasted 5 hours and 24 minutes.

“He has staged some of the most incredible triumphs in the sport, but this Grand Slam victory is the most surprising of his illustrious career”explained the journalist Jonathan Jurejko, from the BBCwho witnessed the match.

With the absence of the deportee Novak Djokovic and the injury of Roger Federer to participate in the Australian Open 2022, Nadal took the lead and overcame these two great rivals in the race for the most major titles in the men’s singles category. In this way, the Swiss Roger Federer is below Nadal with 20 Grand Slam titles; while the Serbian Novak Djokovic stays with the third position also with 20 Grand Slam titles.

For his part, Russian Daniil Medvedev, 25, fell by the wayside, as the tennis player aspired to become the first man in the Open era to win his first two consecutive Grand Slam majors.

Dropping his racket to the ground, he froze and gaped, hands on his hips. After a warm hug with Medvedev, he walked over to his team and exploded with excitement.”Jonathan Jurejko recounted, during the match in Melbourne.

Rafael Nadal makes history and wins his 21st Grand Slam after defeating Russian Daniil Medvedev at the Australian Open 2022 - Blog Hola Telcel
Photo: Novak Djokovic/Twitter

The 35-year-old Spanish tennis player’s epic victory comes after he was diagnosed with chronic Müller-Weiss disease due to a scaphoid deformity in his left foot. Which was close to leaving him out of the tournament.

“I didn’t know if I was going to play tennis a month and a half ago and it’s incredible to see myself here now with the trophy in hand. Thank you very much for everyone’s support”said the tennis player after the trophy delivery.

Rafael Nadal’s 21 Grand Slams

Throughout his career, Rafael Nadal has played a total of 29 finals, of which he has only lost 8. Here is a brief review of his victories to achieve the 21 Grand Slams:

      1. Roland Garros, 2005
      2. Roland Garros, 2006
      3. Roland Garros, 2007
      4. Roland Garros, 2008
      5. Wimbledon, 2008
      6. Australian Open, 2009
      7. Roland Garros, 2010
      8. Wimbledon, 2010
      9. US Open, 2010
      10. Roland Garros, 2011
      11. Roland Garros, 2012
      12. Roland Garros, 2013
      13. US Open, 2013
      14. Roland Garros, 2014
      15. Roland Garros, 2017
      16. US Open, 2017
      17. Roland Garros, 2018
      18. Roland Garros, 2019
      19. US Open, 2019
      20. Roland Garros, 2020
      21. Australian Open, 2022

Lee: Confirmed! Rafa Nadal will be present at the Telcel Mexican Open 2022

After this Australian victory, Rafael Nadal is ready to return to Aztec territory at the Telcel Mexican Open 2022, which will take place from February 21 to 26 in Acapulco at the new facilities of the Arena GNP Seguros. You can follow the event step by step through Telcel’s social networks with your Telcel Max Unlimited Plan with which you have unlimited access to Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Also, enjoy the connectivity of #TelcelLaBestRed with the highest Coverage and Speed.

Now go:

The entry Rafael Nadal makes history as the first player to win 21 Grand Slams appears first on Hola Telcel.

Add Comment