EA removed several Need for Speed ​​titles from its digital stores


Without prior notice Electronic Arts decided to withdraw some Need for Speed ​​titles from its digital stores

Need for speed has become one of the longest-running and most popular franchises in Electronic arts. In addition to several titles, the story has reached the big screen.

This franchise has been around since 3DO and the original PlayStationThat is why it was surprising when the company decided to withdraw some racing video game titles from its digital stores.


Through a post on Reddit it was reported that EA removed some of the titles since May 31, so people will not be able to buy them digitally.

This decision arose within the framework of the closure of the in-game stores and will be followed by the closure of the online servers in a few months.

What are the titles that EA removed?

The games that were retired are:

  1. Need for Speed: Carbon (2006)
  2. Need for Speed: Undercover (2008)
  3. Need for Speed: Shift (2009)
  4. Need for Speed ​​Shift 2: Unleashed (2011)
  5. Need for Speed: The Run (2012)

EA He highlighted that he made the decision to remove these titles since the number of active players in them no longer makes it sustainable for the workforce to be allocated to debugging their servers.

“Withdrawing games is never an easy decision, but we have to change speed and focus on the future of Need for Speed ​​(…) The number of players reached a point where it is no longer feasible to continue the behind-the-scenes work they require”


The company of video game He even stressed that he wants to focus his efforts on the future of the franchise.

“We hope they have had many victories, satisfying drifts, moments of friendly rivalry, and hours of entertainment over the past few years with these games.”

The servers of these five games will close on August 31, but you can continue to enjoy all its offline modes.

In its different installments of the franchise, different studies have worked that have provided it with unique characteristics. So far there are 25 titles that make up the saga.

Add Comment